Manitoba's Celebration of Excellence in Teaching

Minister's Award Recipients 2006-2007

Excellence in teaching – Early Years

Rachelle Law is the recipient of the Minister’s Award of Excellence in Teaching for Early Years. She teaches grades 3 and 4 French immersion at École Heritage Immersion School in the Red River Valley School Division. Law has been teaching for five years and her commitment to student learning is recognized by her students as well as their parents, fellow teachers and administrators. She has a gift for helping students be active, motivated and engaged in the learning process.

Excellence in teaching – Middle years

Michelle Lee of Angus McKay School in River East Transcona School Division is the recipient of the Minister's Award of Excellence in Teaching for Middle Years. In her 30‑year career, she has become well-known for her ability to integrate science and technology into every aspect of learning. Her students are also involved in citizenship efforts such as raising funds for tsunami victims and developing a world view by establishing contacts with students in other countries.

Excellence in teaching – Senior years

Michael Patenaude of Grant Park High School in the Winnipeg School Division is the recipient of the Minister's Award of Excellence in Teaching for Senior Years. He teaches chemistry, math and environmental science advanced placement and is a catalyst behind involving students in international mathematics competitions. Patenaude is credited with changing many young lives. He has a keen interest in helping students develop awareness of global issues and also supports many extra-curricular activities.

Outstanding New Teacher

Christopher J. Yaremkiewich of Strathcona Community School in Winnipeg School Division is the recipient of the Outstanding New Teacher Award. Throughout his first two years of teaching early-years students, he has illustrated innovative and exemplary teaching practices that contributed to student achievement. Yaremkiewich is committed to education in the classroom and in the community, and is actively involved in school events. He welcomes parents into his classroom and promotes multicultural diversity.

Team Collaboration Award

Claudette Gagné, Colette Espenell and Diane Dupuis from the Division scolaire franco-manitobaine received the Team Collaboration Award. These individuals felt it was imperative to develop French-language resources for children and have developed a unique model for teaching students to read. Since November 2004, the team responsible for early childhood development in Ste. Anne has helped children develop communication and reading skills and ensures consistency in teaching techniques from kindergarten to Grade 4. Teachers have focused on professional development and best practices have been documented. Students set personal reading objectives, do self-assessments and work to improve their learning. The reading model is continuing to develop over time and great student success has already been observed.