Advisory Groups and Task Forces

Manitoba Education Council

The Manitoba government is committed to building an equitable, aligned, and effective K to 12 public education system. To facilitate a system-wide approach to planning, an Education Council has been established.

Chaired by the Deputy Minister of Manitoba Education and Early Childhood Learning, the Education Council will facilitate system level planning by:

  • creating a forum to raise, discuss and plan for issues facing children and youth, families, teachers, school staff and early childhood educators;
  • advising how Manitoba can improve achievement and well-being for students across the province; and
  • promoting inter-sectoral engagement, collaboration and partnership.

It consists of a diverse membership of individuals in the education system and education partners who share a vested interest in the success and future of Manitoba’s children and youth. Membership includes representation from the education sector, Indigenous leadership, intersectoral partners, students, and parents. The Council will also engage with groups seeking equity, diversity, and inclusion.

For the terms of reference, see the Manitoba Education Council Terms of Reference, Draft for Consideration – April 2023 (Adobe PDF Document 214 KB).

Manitoba Education Council Members

Manitoba Education Council Members

Alain Laberge

Division scolaire franco-manitobaine

Andrea Buller

Manitoba Federation of Independent Schools

Ashley Vandepoele


Barb Isaak

Manitoba Association of School Superintendents

Bertrand Pauget

Council of Deans of Education in Manitoba

Brianne Judson

Student - Roseau Valley School, Border Land School Division

Charles Cochrane

Manitoba First Nations Education Resource Centre

Chief Clarence Easter

Manitoba Keewatinowi Okimakanak

Coty Zachariah

Southern Chiefs' Organization

Dana Rudy - Chair

Manitoba Education and Early Childhood Learning

Darcy Plett


David McAvoy


Itoro George Affia


Jacqueline Gerrard


Janet Tomy

Manitoba Education and Early Childhood Learning and Co-Chair, Provincial Implementation Team

Jesse Gair

Manitoba Métis Federation

Jodie Kehl

Manitoba Child Care Association

Kate Bolton

Manitoba Advanced Education and Training

Kathleen Vyrauen

Newcomer Education Coalition

Kym Kaufmann

Manitoba Mental Health and Community Wellness

Laura Thomas


Lyn Blackburde

The Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs

Maisa'a Haj Ahmad


Marion Cooper

Canadian Mental Health Association – Manitoba and Winnipeg

Marti Ford

Manitoba Inuit Association

Michelle Dubik

Manitoba Families

Michelle Procter

Student Services Administrators' Association of Manitoba

Myra Laramee

Elder and Knowledge Keeper

Nathan Martindale

The Manitoba Teachers' Society

Paul Ilchena

Manitoba Association of School Business Officials

Sandra Herbst

River East Transcona School Division and Co-Chair, Provincial Implementation Team

Sandy Nemeth

Manitoba School Boards Association

Sherry Gott

Manitoba Advocate for Children and Youth

Suroor Ajani

Student, Erikson Collegiate Institute, Rolling River School Division


Established January 2023.