Advisory Groups and Task Forces

Parent Engagement Task Force

In Spring 2021 the province established a Parent Engagement Task Force to guide public input and advice to the government on how to move forward on parent engagement as a key component of the education system.

The Task Force undertook an ambitious engagement schedule and extensive review of best practices around parent/caregiver engagement to inform the recommendations. They engaged with over 20,800 people in Manitoba through virtual regional parent/caregiver engagement sessions, telephone town halls, workshops, meetings with key stakeholder groups, and various written submissions.

Parent Engagement Task Force Final Report and Recommendations (September 2021) (Adobe PDF Document 501 KB)

For the terms of reference, see the Parent Engagement Task Force Terms of Reference (Adobe PDF Document 416 KB).

Parent Engagement Task Force Members

Parent Engagement Task Force Members
Amanda Gurke Turtle River/Indigenous Inclusion Directorate Advisory Committee (Parent Representative)
Brent Hauser Southwest Horizon (Principal)
Colin Campbell Hanover (Assistant Superintendent)
Don McCaskill Frontier (Area Superintendent)
Ian Wishart (vice-chair) MLA for Portage la Prairie
Janice Morley-Lecomte (vice-chair) MLA for Seine River
Jason Perring Louis Riel School (Parent Representative)
Jodene Baker Winnipeg (Parent Representative)
Mike Babb Winnipeg (Principal)
Pamela Nowosad-Federowich Brandon (Parent Representative)
Rachel Smith Family Advocate Network (Parent Representative)
Scott Johnston (chair) MLA for Assiniboia
Susanne Marius Francophone/French Immersion (Principal)
Terry Brown K to 12 Review Commissioner (Parent Representative)


Work Concluded.