Advisory Groups and Task Forces

Poverty and Education Task Force

The creation of the Provincial Task Force on Poverty and Education was one of the recommendations arising from the final report of the Commission on Kindergarten to Grade 12 Education. Manitoba Education and Early Childhood Learning launched the task force in the fall of 2021 and the work concluded in February 2023 with the release of its final report (PDF Document 2.2 MB)

The Task Force, in connection with Manitoba’s Poverty Reduction Strategy, explored the relationship between poverty and education, and identified recommendations to improve educational, and well-being outcomes for students, particularly those who are living with low income.

The key responsibilities were to examine the impact of poverty on education and put forth recommendations and actionable strategies with a focus on:

  • food access and security
  • access to technology, transportation, and other socio-economic barriers that impact participation
  • outcomes and continuity of education for children in care

Poverty and Education Task Force original Terms of Reference (PDF Document 204 KB).

Poverty and Education Task Force Members

The task force was made up of members representing students, parents, teachers, school leaders, stakeholder organizations, community groups, the City of Winnipeg, and the Manitoba Government.

Poverty and Education Task Force Members
Brenda Brazeau Manitoba Association of Parent Councils
Chris Brens City of Winnipeg
Dana Rudy Manitoba Education and Early Childhood Learning
Davin Dumas Manitoba First Nations Education Resource Centre
Dilly Knol Andrews Street Family Centre
Fadi Enab University of Winnipeg—Urban and Inner City Studies
Heidi Wurmann Manitoba Families
Jackie Connell (Project Lead) Assistant Superintendent, Frontier School Division
Janelle Wotton Child Nutrition Council of Manitoba
Jordan Bighorn CEDA Pathways
Kamryn Brown Minister’s Student Advisory Council Member
Kathy Valentino Association for Manitoba Municipalities
Meaghan Erbus Harvest Manitoba
Michael Redhead Champagne North End Community Renewal Corporation (NECRC), Fearless R2W
Nathan Maertins The Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce
Pauline Clarke Manitoba Association of School Superintendents
Reg Klassen Frontier School Division
Rhonda Taylor Career Trek
Rob Fisher Council of School Leaders of The Manitoba Teachers’ Society
Sarah Gazan The Manitoba Teachers’ Society
Tammy Mitchell River East Transcona School Division
Tanis Knowles Yarnell City of Winnipeg


Work concluded.