Responsibilities of Government in Canada, 1867

Under the BNA Act (later called the Constitution Act), all laws required royal assent, or the approval of the monarch (king or queen) of Britain. However, this Act defined some decisions as being the responsibility of the British government, some as the responsibility of the federal government, and some as the responsibility of the governments of the provinces.

Sort the following into the three categories of responsibilities for decision making.

Relations with other countries	Hospitals and health care
Banking	Immigration to Canada
Control of the armed forces	Property rights of citizens
Local government decisions	Tariffs (taxes on goods coming in and going out of the country)
Defence and military	Mail and postal services
Negotiation of treaties with Aboriginal peoples	Changes to Constitution (BNA Act)
Education and schools	Official languages of provincial governments
Building a national railroad	Official languages of Canada
Trade with other countries	Criminal laws
Civil laws (laws about the rights of citizens)	Roads
Adding new provinces to Canada	Collecting taxes to build a national railroad