INDEPENDENT TOGETHER

Supporting the Multilevel Learning Community

2003

Manitoba Education and Youth

Manitoba Education and Youth Cataloguing in Publication Data

371.25 Independent together : supporting the multilevel learning community

Includes bibliographical references. ISBN 0-7711-3152-6

1. Nongraded schools. 2. Nongraded schools— Manitoba. 3. Teaching. 4. Teaching—Manitoba. I. Manitoba. Manitoba Education and Youth.

Copyright © 2003, the Crown in Right of Manitoba as represented by the Minister of Education and Youth. Manitoba Education and Youth, School Programs Division, 1970 Ness Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3J 0Y9.

Every effort has been made to acknowledge original sources and to comply with copyright law. If cases are identified where this has not been done, please notify Manitoba Education and Youth. Errors or omissions will be corrected in a future edition. Sincere thanks to the authors and publishers who allowed their original material to be adapted or reproduced.

This print resource will also be available on the Manitoba Education and Youth website: http://www.edu.gov.mb.ca/ks4/cur/multilevel/index.html. Most of the blackline masters (BLMs) included in this resource can be downloaded from the website. Teachers may copy these BLMs for classroom use.

ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

Manitoba Education and Youth gratefully acknowledges the contributions of the following educators in the development of *Independent Together: Supporting the Multilevel Learning Community*.

Multilevel Classroom Committee Members

Lise Beaudry	École Letellier Immersion	Border Land S.D.
Andrea Bell-Stuart	Wolseley School	Winnipeg S.D.
Carole Blackbird	Fort La Reine School	Portage la Prairie S.D.
Cindy Cannon	Beaver Creek School	Pine Creek S.D.
Bruce Craig	Cypress River Elementary	Prairie Spirit S.D.
Shelley Giesbrecht	Blue Clay Colony School	Border Land S.D.
Terry Happychuk	Mountbatten School	Louis Riel S.D.
Clarence Hofer	Shamrock School	Prairie Spirit S.D.
Nolene Hofer	Shamrock School	Prairie Spirit S.D.
Brenda Huhtala	Skownan School	Frontier S.D.
Valinda Kennedy	Stevenson Island School	Frontier S.D.
Hilda Maendel	New Rosedale School	Prairie Spirit S.D.
John Malanik	Grass River School	Turtle River S.D.
Greg Meade	Mountbatten School	Louis Riel S.D.
Shelly Poirier	École communautaire Gilbert-Rosset	Division scolaire franco-manitobaine
Diane Poiron-Toupin	École communautaire Gilbert-Rosset	Division scolaire franco-manitobaine
Sandra Shaw	High Bluff School	Portage la Prairie S.D.
Terry Simpson	Ninette Elementary School	Turtle Mountain S.D.
Donna Slobodzian	Oak Bluff Community School	Red River Valley S.D.
Joan Thomas	Contract Writer	Independent
Ira Udow	Wolseley School	Winnipeg S.D.
Julie Van Kommer	Twilight Colony School	Beautiful Plains S.D.
Jonathan Waite	Richer School	Seine River S.D.

Manitoba Schools

Thank you to the following Manitoba schools for their support.

Beaver Creek School Pine Creek S.D.

École communautaire Gilbert-Rosset Division scolaire franco-manitobaine

New Rosedale School Prairie Spirit S.D.

Twilight Colony School Beautiful Plains S.D.

Wolseley School Winnipeg S.D.

Manitoba Education and Youth Staff School Programs Division and Bureau de l'éducation française Division

Joan Bartley	Project Co-leader	Curriculum Unit
		Program Development Branch
Heidi Betts	Publications Editor	Production Support Unit
	(Until February 2003)	Program Development Branch
Lee-IIa Bothe	Coordinator	Production Support Unit
		Program Development Branch
Lynn Harrison	Desktop Publisher	Production Support Unit
		Program Development Branch
Elaine Lecuyer	Project Co-leader	Bureau de l'éducation française
	(Until 2002)	
Susan Letkemann	Publications Editor	Production Support Unit
		Program Development Branch
Joyce MacMartin	Project Manager	Program and Policy Services Unit
		Program Development Branch
Aileen Najduch	Consultant	Curriculum Unit
-		Program Development Branch
Gretha Pallen	Project Co-leader	Curriculum Unit
		Program Development Branch
Debra Parker	Consultant	Distance Learning and Information
		Technologies Unit
		Program Development Branch
Shelley Warkentin	Project Co-leader	Bureau de l'éducation française