## **Acknowledgements**

Manitoba Education and Youth acknowledges the contributions of Manitoba educators who served on the following teams in the development of the social studies curriculum framework documents.

## **Manitoba Framework Development Team**

Norma Armstrong Bairdmore School Pembina Trails S.D.

Lynne Courtemanche École Laura-Secord The Winnipeg S.D.

Sophia de Witt Crestview School St. James-Assiniboia S.D.

Craig Laluk École MacNeill Mountain View S.D.

Nina Logan Beaumont School Pembina Trails S.D.

Sharon Conway Aboriginal Curriculum Support Teacher The Winnipeg S.D.

Saira Rahman Alhijra Islamic School Independent Islamic School

Yolande Tétrault École Saint-Joachim Division scolaire franco-manitobaine

Grades 5 to 8

Emanuel CalistoWest St. Paul SchoolSeven Oaks S.D.Wayne DaviesSelkirk Junior HighLord Selkirk S.D.Gordon JonesVirden Junior HighFort la Bosse S.D.Mervin McKayEastwood SchoolMystery Lake S.D.

Ron Munro Independent Consultant

Huguette Phaneuf Collège Louis-Riel Division scolaire franco-manitobaine

Myron Tarasiuk R.F. Morrison School Seven Oaks S.D.

Senior 1 to Senior 4

Cécile Alarie-SkeneCollège Jeanne-SauvéLouis Riel S.D.Jean-Paul BergeronCollège ChurchillThe Winnipeg S.D.

Peter Bjornson Gimli High School Evergreen S.D.

Georges Druwé Independent Consultant

Al Friesen Neelin High School Brandon S.D.

Linda McDowell Independent Consultant

Claude Michaud École Pointe-des-Chênes Division scolaire franco-manitobaine

Gareth Neufeld River East Collegiate River East-Transcona S.D.

Arlin Scharfenberg Rosenort School Red River Valley S.D.

Natalie Tays Neyo Ohtinwak Collegiate Nelson House (Band Operated)

**Academic Advisors** 

Robin Brownlie Professor, History Department University of Manitoba

Luc Coté Professor, History Collège universitaire de Saint-Boniface

Richard Harbeck Professor, Faculty of Education University of Manitoba
Bill Norton Professor, Geography Department University of Manitoba
Ken Osborne Professor Emeritus, Faculty of Education University of Manitoba

**Manitoba Social Studies Steering Committee** 

Norma Armstrong Bairdmore School Pembina Trails S.D.

Jim Dalton Manitoba Association of School Superintendents Evergreen S.D.

Lynn Doyle Manitoba Association of Parent Councils

Ray Hall William Morton Collegiate Pine Creek S.D.

Irene Henschel Manitoba Association of Principals Louis Riel S.D.

Byron Jones Black Educators Association of Manitoba River East-Transcona S.D. Yatta Kanu Faculty of Education University of Manitoba

Joe Krupnik Manitoba Association of Parent Councils

Adèle Lafrenière Aboriginal Representative Frontier S.D.

Brenda Lowes Manitoba Association of School Trustees Fort La Bosse S.D.

Alan Mason Manitoba Teachers' Society Pembina Trails S.D.

Linda McDowell Manitoba Social Science Teachers' Association The Winnipeg S.D.

Janice Roch Samuel Burland School Louis Riel S.D.

Dion Wiseman Department of Geography Brandon University

## **Manitoba Cultural Advisory Team**

Oscar Calix Manitoba Association of Teachers of Spanish

Gemma Dalayoan Manitoba Association of Filipino Teachers Inc. The Winnipeg S.D.

Diane Dwarka School Programs Division Manitoba Education and Youth

Jody Hagarty Colony Educators of Manitoba Border Land S.D.

Rick Hesch Social Planning Council of Winnipeg

Beryle Mae Jones Manitoba Multicultural Resource Centre, Inc.

and Canadian Citizenship Federation

Byron Jones Black Educators Association of Manitoba River East-Transcona S.D.

Walter Kampen Manitoba Teachers of German River East-Transcona S.D.

Manju Lodha Manitoba Association for Multicultural Education

Glenn Matsumoto Manitoba Japanese Canadian Cultural Centre, Inc. River East-Transcona S.D.

Valerie Price Manitoba Association for Rights and Liberties

Saira Rahman Manitoba Islamic Association

Myron Tarasiuk Manitoba Teachers of Ukrainian

James Teoh Winnipeg Chinese Cultural Centre

Hersch Zentner B'nai Brith Canada, League for Human Rights

## School Programs Division, Manitoba Education and Youth Staff

Madeleine Bérard Word Processor Operator Bureau de l'éducation française

Lee-Ila Bothe Coordinator Production Support Unit

**Program Development Branch** 

Diane Cooley Project Manager Curriculum Unit

**Program Development Branch** 

Bernice Daigneault Consultant Curriculum Unit

Hammersmith Program Development Branch

Renée Gillis Consultant Bureau de l'éducation française

Sylvie Huard-Huberdeau Consultant Bureau de l'éducation française

Susan Letkemann

Larry Labelle	Consultant	Program and Policy Services Unit

Program Development Branch
Publications Editor
Production Support Unit

Program Development Branch

Linda Mlodzinski Project Leader Curriculum Unit

**Program Development Branch** 

Linda Palma Administrative Assistant Curriculum Unit

**Program Development Branch** 

Tim Pohl Desktop Publisher Production Support Unit

Program Development Branch