Acknowledgements



Manitoba Education, Citizenship and Youth gratefully acknowledges the contributions of the following individuals in the development of *Grade 8 Social Studies: World History: Societies of the Past:* A Foundation for Implementation.

Manitoba Framework Development Team

Kindergarten to Grade 4

Norma Armstrong	Bairdmore School	Pembina Trails S.D.
Lynne Courtemanche	École Laura-Secord	Winnipeg S.D.
Sophia de Witt	Crestview School	St. James-Assiniboia S.D.
Craig Laluk	École MacNeill	Mountain View S.D.
Nina Logan	Beaumont School	Pembina Trails S.D.
Sharon Conway	Aboriginal Curriculum Support Teacher	Winnipeg S.D.
Saira Rahman	Alhijra Islamic School	Independent Islamic School
Yolande Tétrault	École Saint-Joachim	Division scolaire franco-manitobaine
Grades 5 to 8		
Emanuel Calisto	West St. Paul School	Seven Oaks S.D.
Wayne Davies	Selkirk Junior High	Lord Selkirk S.D.
Gordon Jones	Virden Junior High	Fort la Bosse S.D.
Mervin McKay	Eastwood School	Mystery Lake S.D.
Ron Munro	Independent Consultant	
Huguette Phaneuf	Collège Louis-Riel	Division scolaire franco-manitobaine
Myron Tarasiuk	R.F. Morrison School	Seven Oaks S.D.
Grades 9 to 12		
Cécile Alarie-Skene	Collège Jeanne-Sauvé	Louis Riel S.D.
Jean-Paul Bergeron	Collège Churchill	Winnipeg S.D.
Peter Bjornson	Gimli High School	Evergreen S.D.
Georges Druwé	Independent Consultant	
Al Friesen	Neelin High School	Brandon S.D.
Linda McDowell	Independent Consultant	
Claude Michaud	École Pointe-des-Chênes	Division scolaire franco-manitobaine
Gareth Neufeld	River East Collegiate	River East Transcona S.D.
Arlin Scharfenberg	Rosenort School	Red River Valley S.D.
Natalie Tays	Neyo Ohtinwak Collegiate	Nelson House (Band Operated)

Grade 8 Foundation for Implementation Writers

Renée Gillis Ron Munro

Academic Advisors

Robin Brownlie	Professor of History	University of Manitoba
Luc Coté	Professor of History	Collège universitaire de Saint- Boniface
Richard Harbeck	Professor of Education	University of Manitoba
Bill Norton	Professor of Geography	University of Manitoba
Ken Osborne	Professor Emeritus, Faculty of Education	University of Manitoba

Grade 5 to Grade 9 Foundation for Implementation Development Team

Bruce Backhouse	Consultant	Distance Learning and Information Technologies Unit Instruction, Curriculum and Assessment Branch
Loretta Basiuk	(Retired)	
Lisa Bruce	St. Laurent School	Prairie Rose S.D.
Emanuel Calisto	West St. Paul School	Seven Oaks S.D.
Rhona Churman	Laura Secord School	Winnipeg S.D.
Linda Connor	Gray Academy of Jewish Education	Winnipeg Board of Jewish Education
Lyne Courtemanche	Laura Secord School	Winnipeg S.D.
Carol Hill	Nordale School	Louis Riel S.D.
Debbie Houle	Joe A. Ross School	Individual Band Operated Schools
Darcy Kowalchuk	Strathclair Community School	Park West S.D.
Bernie Loeppky	Plum Coulee School	Garden Valley S.D.
Linda Mlodzinski	Consultant	Curriculum Unit Instruction, Curriculum and Assessment Branch
Colleen Nick-Johnson		River East Transcona S.D.
Dave Poersch		Pembina Trails S.D.
Patricia Roadley	Arthur A. Leach School	Pembina Trails S.D.
Arlin Scharfenberg	Rosenort School	Red River Valley S.D.
Myron Tarasiuk	R.F. Morrison School	Seven Oaks S.D.
Sid Williamson	Laura Secord School	Winnipeg S.D.
Connie Wyatt Anderson	Joe A. Ross School	Individual Band Operated



Manitoba Social Studies Steering Committee

Linda Connor	Joseph Wolinsky Collegiate	Independent
Arnold Dysart	Manitoba Association of School Superintendents	Frontier S.D.
Darcy Kowalchuk	Strathclair Community School	Park West S.D.
John Orlikow	Manitoba Association of School Trustees	Winnipeg S.D.
Alan Mason	Manitoba Teachers' Society	Pembina Trails S.D.
Linda McDowell	Faculty of Education	University of Winnipeg
Mervin McKay	Wapanohk-Eastwood Community School	Mystery Lake S.D.
Sharon Moolchan	Mapleton School	Lord Selkirk S.D.
Dave Najduch	Manitoba Social Science Teachers' Association	Winnipeg S.D.
Bill Norton	Department of Geography	University of Manitoba
Synthia Wright	Meadows School	Brandon S.D.
Doug Zintel	Manitoba Association of Parent Councils	Louis Riel S.D.

Manitoba Cultural Advisory Team

Oscar Calix	Manitoba Association of Teachers of Spanish	
Gemma Dalayoan	Manitoba Association of Filipino Teachers	Winnipeg S.D.
Diane Dwarka	School Programs Division	Manitoba Education, Citizenship and Youth
Jody Hagarty	Colony Educators of Manitoba	Border Land S.D.
Rick Hesch	Social Planning Council of Winnipeg	
Beryle Mae Jones	Manitoba Multicultural Resource Centre and Canadian Citizenship Federation	
Byron Jones	Black Educators Association of Manitoba	River East-Transcona S.D.
Walter Kampen	Manitoba Teachers of German	River East-Transcona S.D.
Manju Lodha	Manitoba Association for Multicultural Education	
Glenn Matsumoto	Manitoba Japanese Canadian Cultural Centre	River East-Transcona S.D.
Valerie Price	Manitoba Association for Rights and Liberties	
Saira Rahman	Manitoba Islamic Association	
Myron Tarasiuk	Manitoba Teachers of Ukrainian	
James Teoh	Winnipeg Chinese Cultural Centre	
Hersch Zentner	B'nai Brith Canada, League for Human Rights	

8

Acknowledgements

Manitoba Education, Citizenship and Youth Staff

Lee-Ila Bothe	Coordinator	Document Production Services Instruction, Curriculum and Assessment Branch
Diane Cooley	Project Manager	Development Unit Instruction, Curriculum and Assessment Branch
Ken Horton	Consultant	Implementation Unit Instruction, Curriculum and Assessment Branch
Janet Long	Desktop Publisher	Document Production Services Instruction, Curriculum and Assessment Branch
Linda Mlodzinski	Consultant	Development Unit Instruction, Curriculum and Assessment Branch
Grant Moore	Publications Editor	Document Production Services Instruction, Curriculum and Assessment Branch
Linda Palma	Administrative Assistant	Development Unit Instruction, Curriculum and Assessment Branch
Cyril Parent	Desktop Publisher	Document Production Services Instruction, Curriculum and Assessment Branch
Tim Pohl	Desktop Publisher	Document Production Services Instruction, Curriculum and Assessment Branch
Tony Tavares	Consultant	Development Unit Instruction, Curriculum and Assessment Branch