Upper Canada

- Laws based on British system of law
- English language only used in the government
- British township system for land division
- One-seventh of all lands set aside for Protestant schools and churches
- Elected Legislative Assembly controlled by English-speaking property owners and merchants of British descent
- Decisions mostly controlled by British merchants and wealthy landowners of British descent
- Protestant religion and education encouraged by government
- Population mostly English-speaking
- Population mostly Loyalists
- Ontario today
- Called Canada West in 1841
- Fast population growth due to arrival of many Loyalists, and English, Scottish, and Irish immigrants
- Only male property owners (European descent) could vote (* true of both colonies)

Lower Canada

- Combination of English law and French-Canadian law
- French and English languages used in government
- Seigneurial system for land division
- People mostly under control of the Catholic Church and the seigneurs
- Elected Legislative Assembly controlled by English merchants and French-Canadian property owners
- Roman Catholic Church controls religion, education, and hospitals
- Called Canada East in 1841
- Population mostly Catholic
- Population mostly French-speaking
- Québec today
- Catholic Church authority protected by the government
- Fast population growth due to high birth rate and immigration
- Only male property owners (European descent) could vote (* true of both colonies)