Timeline of Events 1763—1791—Key

1763	End of Seven Years' War: Nouvelle-France becomes a colony of England
1774	British Parliament passes the Québec Act, extending the Province of Québec's territory to the south, and preventing westward expansion of the Thirteen Colonies. The people of Québec (majority French-speaking) are allowed to practise their language, religion, laws, and landholding system.
1775	Americans attack British soldiers at Lexington, Massachusetts, beginning the war for American independence. The Americans also attack the fort at Québec unsuccessfully.
1776	The first United Empire Loyalists begin to arrive in Nova Scotia. They are given land and food by the British colonial government.
1776	July 4 - Americans sign their Declaration of Independence from British rule.
1781	The British army surrenders and the fighting between Americans and British ends. Loyalists continue to come to Nova Scotia and Québec.
1783	Treaty of Paris is signed, officially ending the American Revolution and recognizing American independence.
1784	In response to the demands of the many Loyalists in the area, Nova Scotia is divided into two provinces, creating the new colony of New Brunswick.
1791	The Constitution Act divides the Province of Québec into Upper Canada (Ontario) and Lower Canada (Québec). Upper Canada is mostly English-speaking because of the arrival of the Loyalists, while Lower Canada is mostly French-speaking. Both provinces receive an elected assembly. Lower Canada uses French and English and keeps the seigneurial system.