Timeline of Events 1763-1791

End of Seven Years' War: Nouvelle-France becomes a colony of England

British Parliament passes the Québec Act, extending the Province of Québec's territory to the south, and preventing westward expansion of the Thirteen Colonies. The people of Québec (majority French-speaking) are allowed to practise their language, religion, laws, and landholding system.

Americans attack British soldiers at Lexington, Massachusetts, beginning the war for American independence. The Americans also attack the fort at Québec unsuccessfully.

The first United Empire Loyalists begin to arrive in Nova Scotia. They are given land and food by the British colonial government.

July 4 - Americans sign their Declaration of Independence from British rule.

The British army surrenders and the fighting between Americans and British ends. Loyalists continue to come to Nova Scotia and Québec.

Treaty of Paris is signed, officially ending the American Revolution and recognizing American independence.

In response to the demands of the many Loyalists in the area, Nova Scotia is divided into two provinces, creating the new colony of New Brunswick.

The Constitution Act divides the Province of Québec into Upper Canada (Ontario) and Lower Canada (Québec). Upper Canada is mostly English-speaking because of the arrival of the Loyalists, while Lower Canada is mostly French-speaking. Both provinces receive an elected assembly. Lower Canada uses French and English and keeps the seigneurial system.