A Changing Map of Canada—Key

5.4

С

| The Map of Canada in 1774 | The Map of Canada in 1791 |
|---|---|
| Name the provinces of Canada identified in this map: | Name the provinces of Canada identified in this map: |
| (Note: Rupert's Land is not a colony, as it is still controlled by the Hudson's Bay Company) | (Note: Rupert's Land is not a colony, as it is still controlled by the Hudson's Bay Company) |
| Province of Québec Newfoundland Nova Scotia | Upper Canada Nova Scotia Lower Canada Newfoundland New Brunswick |
| Describe the size and territory of the province of Québec in this map: | Describe what has happened to the former Province of Québec in this map: |
| It is very large and extends to the west of the Thirteen Colonies south of the Great Lakes into the United States. | It is much smaller, does not extend into the United States, and is divided into two parts: Upper Canada, the Great Lakes area; and Lower Canada, the area along the St. Lawrence River. |
| Name the Act that established this map. | Name the Act that established this map. |
| The Québec Act of 1774, establishing the province of Québec and allowing Canadiens to keep their language, religion, landholding and civil laws. | The Constitutional Act of 1791 establishes new colonies in Canada and divides English- speaking and French-speaking provinces (Upper and Lower Canada). |
| | Note: Help students remember "Upper" and "Lower" by thinking of European perspective of travelling farther "up" the St. Lawrence into the country. |

much? What questions do you have about these changes?

Encourage students to hypothesize based on prior knowledge.