Acknowledgements



Manitoba Education, Citizenship and Youth gratefully acknowledges the contributions of the following individuals in the development of *Grade 3 Social Studies: Communities of the World: A Foundation for Implementation.*

Manitoba Framework Development Team

Kindergarten to Grade 4

Norma Armstrong	Bairdmore School	Pembina Trails S.D.
Lynne Courtemanche	École Laura-Secord	Winnipeg S.D.
Sophia de Witt	Crestview School	St. James-Assiniboia S.D.
Craig Laluk	École MacNeill	Mountain View S.D.
Nina Logan	Beaumont School	Pembina Trails S.D.
Sharon Conway	Aboriginal Curriculum Support Teacher	Winnipeg S.D.
Saira Rahman	Alhijra Islamic School	Independent Islamic School
Yolande Tétrault	École Saint-Joachim	Division scolaire franco-manitobaine
Grades 5 to 8		
Emanuel Calisto	West St. Paul School	Seven Oaks S.D.
Wayne Davies	Selkirk Junior High	Lord Selkirk S.D.
Gordon Jones	Virden Junior High	Fort la Bosse S.D.
Mervin McKay	Eastwood School	Mystery Lake S.D.
Ron Munro	Independent Consultant	
Huguette Phaneuf	Collège Louis-Riel	Division scolaire franco-manitobaine
Myron Tarasiuk	R.F. Morrison School	Seven Oaks S.D.
Senior 1 to Senior 4		
Cécile Alarie-Skene	Collège Jeanne-Sauvé	Louis Riel S.D.
Jean-Paul Bergeron	Collège Churchill	Winnipeg S.D.
Peter Bjornson	Gimli High School	Evergreen S.D.
Georges Druwé	Independent Consultant	
Al Friesen	Neelin High School	Brandon S.D.
Linda McDowell	Independent Consultant	
Claude Michaud	École Pointe-des-Chênes	Division scolaire franco-manitobaine
Gareth Neufeld	River East Collegiate	River East-Transcona S.D.
Arlin Scharfenberg	Rosenort School	Red River Valley S.D.
Natalie Tays	Neyo Ohtinwak Collegiate	Nelson House (Band Operated)

GRADE

Acknowledgements

Academic Advisors

Robin Brownlie	Professor of History	University of Manitoba
Luc Coté	Professor of History	Collège universitaire de Saint- Boniface
Richard Harbeck	Professor of Education	University of Manitoba
Bill Norton	Professor of Geography	University of Manitoba
Ken Osborne	Professor Emeritus, Faculty of Education	University of Manitoba

Kindergarten to Grade 4 Foundation for Implementation Writing Team

Mary-Anna Aaldyk-Doerksen	Southwood Elementary	Garden Valley S.D.
Norma Armstrong	Bairdmore School	Pembina Trails S.D.
Sharon Conway (writer)	Aboriginal Curriculum Support Teacher	Winnipeg S.D.
Shauna Cornwell	École Laura-Secord	Winnipeg S.D.
Sophia de Witt	Crestview School	St. James-Assiniboia S.D.
Jacqueline Field	Grosvenor School	Winnipeg S.D.
Irene Hudek	Beausejour Elementary	Sunrise S.D.
Craig Laluk	École Macneill	Mountain View S.D.
Val Mowez	Wellington School	Winnipeg S.D.
Bev Smith	Whyte Ridge School	Pembina Trails S.D.
Sid Williamson	École Laura-Secord	Winnipeg S.D.

Manitoba Social Studies Steering Committee

Linda Connor
Arnold Dysart

Darcy Kowalchuk John Orlikow

Alan Mason Linda McDowell Mervin McKay

Sharon Moolchan Dave Najduch

Bill Norton Synthia Wright Doug Zintel Joseph Wolinsky Collegiate Manitoba Association of School Superintendents Strathclair Community School Manitoba Association of School Trustees Manitoba Teachers' Society Faculty of Education Wapanohk-Eastwood **Community School** Mapleton School Manitoba Social Science Teachers' Association Department of Geography Meadows School Manitoba Association of Parent Councils

Independent Frontier S.D.

Park West S.D. Winnipeg S.D.

Pembina Trails S.D. University of Winnipeg Mystery Lake S.D.

Lord Selkirk S.D. Winnipeg S.D.

University of Manitoba Brandon S.D. Louis Riel S.D.

GRADE

Manitoba Cultural Advisory Team

Oscar Calix	Manitoba Association of Teachers of Spanish	
Gemma Dalayoan	Manitoba Association of Filipino Teachers	Winnipeg S.D.
Diane Dwarka	School Programs Division	Manitoba Education, Citizenship and Youth
Jody Hagarty	Colony Educators of Manitoba	Border Land S.D.
Rick Hesch	Social Planning Council of Winnipeg	
Beryle Mae Jones	Manitoba Multicultural Resource Centre and Canadian Citizenship Federation	
Byron Jones	Black Educators Association of Manitoba	River East-Transcona S.D.
Walter Kampen	Manitoba Teachers of German	River East-Transcona S.D.
Manju Lodha	Manitoba Association for Multicultural Education	
Glenn Matsumoto	Manitoba Japanese Canadian Cultural Centre	River East-Transcona S.D.
Valerie Price	Manitoba Association for Rights and Liberties	
Saira Rahman	Manitoba Islamic Association	
Myron Tarasiuk	Manitoba Teachers of Ukrainian	
James Teoh	Winnipeg Chinese Cultural Centre	
Hersch Zentner	B'nai Brith Canada, League for Human Rights	

Manitoba Education, Citizenship and Youth Staff

Cecile Alarie-Skene	Consultant	Bureau de l'éducation française manitobaine
Bruce Backhouse	Consultant	Distance Learning and Information Technologies Unit Program Development Branch
Lee-Ila Bothe	Coordinator	Production Support Unit Program Development Branch
Diane Cooley	Project Manager	Curriculum Unit Program Development Branch
Ken Horton	Consultant	Test Development Unit Assessment and Evaluation Branch
Larry Labelle	Consultant	Curriculum Unit Program Development Branch
Ray Lavery	Consultant	Curriculum Unit Program Development Branch
Susan Letkemann	Publications Editor	Production Support Unit Program Development Branch
Janet Long	Desktop Publisher	Production Support Unit Program Development Branch

GRADE

3

Acknowledgements

Manitoba Education, Citizenship and Youth Staff (continued)

Linda Mlodzinski	Project Leader	Curriculum Unit Program Development Branch
Grant Moore	Publications Editor	Production Support Unit Program Development Branch
Linda Palma	Administrative Assistant	Curriculum Unit Program Development Branch
Tim Pohl	Desktop Publisher	Production Support Unit Program Development Branch
Tony Tavares	Consultant	Curriculum Unit Program Development Branch