Acknowledgements

Manitoba Education, Citizenship and Youth gratefully acknowledges the contributions of the following individuals in the development of *Grade 2 Social Studies: Communities in Canada: A Foundation for Implementation*.

Manitoba Framework Development Team Kindergarten to Grade 4

Norma Armstrong Lynne Courtemanche Sophia de Witt Craig Laluk Nina Logan Sharon Conway Saira Rahman Yolande Tétrault

Grades 5 to 8

Emanuel Calisto Wayne Davies Gordon Jones Mervin McKay Ron Munro Huguette Phaneuf Myron Tarasiuk

Senior 1 to Senior 4

Cécile Alarie-Skene Jean-Paul Bergeron Peter Bjornson Georges Druwé Al Friesen Linda McDowell Claude Michaud Gareth Neufeld Arlin Scharfenberg Natalie Tays

Bairdmore School
École Laura-Secord
Crestview School
École MacNeill
Beaumont School
Aboriginal Curriculum Support Teacher
Alhijra Islamic School
École Saint-Joachim

West St. Paul School Selkirk Junior High Virden Junior High Eastwood School Independent Consultant Collège Louis-Riel R.F. Morrison School

Collège Jeanne-Sauvé Collège Churchill Gimli High School Independent Consultant Neelin High School Independent Consultant École Pointe-des-Chênes River East Collegiate Rosenort School Neyo Ohtinwak Collegiate Pembina Trails S.D. Winnipeg S.D. St. James-Assiniboia S.D. Mountain View S.D. Pembina Trails S.D. Winnipeg S.D. Independent Islamic School Division scolaire franco-manitobaine

GRADE

Seven Oaks S.D. Lord Selkirk S.D. Fort la Bosse S.D. Mystery Lake S.D.

Division scolaire franco-manitobaine Seven Oaks S.D.

Louis Riel S.D. Winnipeg S.D. Evergreen S.D.

Brandon S.D.

Division scolaire franco-manitobaine River East-Transcona S.D. Red River Valley S.D. Nelson House (Band Operated)

GRADE

Acknowledgements

Academic Advisors

Professor of History	University of Manitoba
Professor of History	Collège universitaire de Saint- Boniface
Professor of Education	University of Manitoba
Professor of Geography	University of Manitoba
Professor Emeritus, Faculty of Education	University of Manitoba
	Professor of History Professor of Education Professor of Geography

Kindergarten to Grade 4 Foundation for Implementation Writing Team

Mary-Anna Aaldyk-Doerksen	Southwood Elementary	Garden Valley S.D.
Norma Armstrong	Bairdmore School	Pembina Trails S.D.
Sharon Conway (writer)	Aboriginal Curriculum Support Teacher	Winnipeg S.D.
Shauna Cornwell	École Laura-Secord	Winnipeg S.D.
Sophia de Witt	Crestview School	St. James-Assiniboia S.D.
Jacqueline Field	Grosvenor School	Winnipeg S.D.
Irene Hudek	Beausejour Elementary	Sunrise S.D.
Craig Laluk	École Macneill	Mountain View S.D.
Val Mowez	Wellington School	Winnipeg S.D.
Bev Smith	Whyte Ridge School	Pembina Trails S.D.
Sid Williamson	École Laura-Secord	Winnipeg S.D.

Manitoba Social Studies Steering Committee

Linda Connor	Joseph Wolinsky Collegiate	Independent
Arnold Dysart	Manitoba Association of School Superintendents	Frontier S.D.
Darcy Kowalchuk	Strathclair Community School	Park West S.D.
Alan Mason	Manitoba Teachers' Society	Pembina Trails S.D.
Linda McDowell	Faculty of Education	University of Winnipeg
Mervin McKay	Wapanohk-Eastwood Community School	Mystery Lake S.D.
Sharon Moolchan	Mapleton School	Lord Selkirk S.D.
Dave Najduch	Manitoba Social Science Teachers' Association	Winnipeg S.D.
Bill Norton	Department of Geography	University of Manitoba
Synthia Wright	Meadows School	Brandon S.D.
Doug Zintel	Manitoba Association of Parent Councils	Louis Riel S.D.

GRADE

2

Manitoba Cultural Advisory Team

Oscar Calix	Manitoba Association of Teachers of Spanish	
Gemma Dalayoan	Manitoba Association of Filipino Teachers	Winnipeg S.D.
Diane Dwarka	School Programs Division	Manitoba Education, Citizenship and Youth
Jody Hagarty	Colony Educators of Manitoba	Border Land S.D.
Rick Hesch	Social Planning Council of Winnipeg	
Beryle Mae Jones	Manitoba Multicultural Resource Centre and Canadian Citizenship Federation	
Byron Jones	Black Educators Association of Manitoba	River East-Transcona S.D.
Walter Kampen	Manitoba Teachers of German	River East-Transcona S.D.
Manju Lodha	Manitoba Association for Multicultural Education	
Glenn Matsumoto	Manitoba Japanese Canadian Cultural Centre	River East-Transcona S.D.
Valerie Price	Manitoba Association for Rights and Liberties	
Saira Rahman	Manitoba Islamic Association	
Myron Tarasiuk	Manitoba Teachers of Ukrainian	
James Teoh	Winnipeg Chinese Cultural Centre	
Hersch Zentner	B'nai Brith Canada, League for Human Rights	

Manitoba Education, Citizenship and Youth Staff

Cecile Alarie-Skene	Consultant	Bureau de l'éducation française manitobaine
Bruce Backhouse	Consultant	Distance Learning and Information Technologies Unit Program Development Branch
Louise Boissonneault	Publications Editor	Production Support Unit Program Development Branch
Lee-Ila Bothe	Coordinator	Production Support Unit Program Development Branch
Diane Cooley	Project Manager (until July 2004)	Curriculum Unit Program Development Branch
Ken Horton	Consultant	Test Development Unit Assessment and Evaluation Branch
Larry Labelle	Consultant	Curriculum Unit Program Development Branch
Ray Lavery	Consultant	Curriculum Unit Program Development Branch
Susan Letkemann	Publications Editor	Production Support Unit Program Development Branch

۷

Acknowledgements

Manitoba Education, Citizenship and Youth Staff (continued)

Janet Long	Desktop Publisher	Production Support Unit Program Development Branch
Linda Mlodzinski	Project Leader	Curriculum Unit Program Development Branch
Grant Moore	Publications Editor	Production Support Unit Program Development Branch
Aileen Najduch	Project Manager (after July 2004)	Curriculum Unit Program Development Branch
Linda Palma	Administrative Assistant	Curriculum Unit Program Development Branch
Tim Pohl	Desktop Publisher	Production Support Unit Program Development Branch
Tony Tavares	Consultant	Curriculum Unit Program Development Branch