### **Acknowledgements**

#### **Academic Advisors**

Robin Brownlie Professor of History University of Manitoba

Luc Coté Professor of History Collège universitaire de Saint-

Boniface

Richard Harbeck Professor of Education University of Manitoba
Bill Norton Professor of Geography University of Manitoba
Ken Osborne Professor Emeritus, Faculty of Education University of Manitoba

### Kindergarten to Grade 4 Foundation for Implementation Writing Team

Mary-Anna Aaldyk-Doerksen Southwood Elementary Garden Valley S.D.

Norma Armstrong Bairdmore School Pembina Trails S.D.

Sharon Conway (writer) Aboriginal Curriculum Support Teacher Winnipeg S.D.
Shauna Cornwell École Laura-Secord Winnipeg S.D.

Sophia de Witt Crestview School St. James-Assiniboia S.D.

Jacqueline FieldGrosvenor SchoolWinnipeg S.D.Irene HudekBeausejour ElementarySunrise S.D.

Craig Laluk École Macneill Mountain View S.D.
Val Mowez Wellington School Winnipeg S.D.
Bev Smith Whyte Ridge School Pembina Trails S.D.

Sid Williamson École Laura-Secord Winnipeg S.D.

# **Manitoba Social Studies Steering Committee**

Linda Connor Joseph Wolinsky Collegiate Independent
Arnold Dysart Manitoba Association Frontier S.D.

of School Superintendents

Darcy Kowalchuk Strathclair Community School Park West S.D.

Alan Mason Manitoba Teachers' Society Pembina Trails S.D.

Linda McDowell Faculty of Education University of Winnipeg

Mervin McKay Wapanohk-Eastwood Mystery Lake S.D.

Community School

Sharon Moolchan Mapleton School Lord Selkirk S.D.

Dave Najduch Manitoba Social Science Winnipeg S.D.

Teachers' Association

Bill Norton Department of Geography University of Manitoba

Synthia Wright Meadows School Brandon S.D.

Doug Zintel Manitoba Association Louis Riel S.D.

of Parent Councils

### **Acknowledgements**

### **Manitoba Cultural Advisory Team**

Oscar Calix Manitoba Association of Teachers of Spanish

Gemma Dalayoan Manitoba Association of Filipino Teachers Winnipeg S.D.

Diane Dwarka School Programs Division Manitoba Education,

Citizenship and Youth

Jody Hagarty Colony Educators of Manitoba Border Land S.D.

Rick Hesch Social Planning Council of Winnipeg
Beryle Mae Jones Manitoba Multicultural Resource Centre

and Canadian Citizenship Federation

Byron Jones Black Educators Association of Manitoba River East-Transcona S.D.

Walter Kampen Manitoba Teachers of German River East-Transcona S.D.

Manju Lodha Manitoba Association for Multicultural Education

Glenn Matsumoto Manitoba Japanese Canadian Cultural Centre River East-Transcona S.D.

Valerie Price Manitoba Association for Rights and Liberties

Saira Rahman Manitoba Islamic Association

Myron Tarasiuk Manitoba Teachers of Ukrainian

James Teoh Winnipeg Chinese Cultural Centre

Hersch Zentner B'nai Brith Canada, League for Human Rights

# Manitoba Education, Citizenship and Youth Staff

Cecile Alarie-Skene Consultant Bureau de l'éducation française

manitobaine

Bruce Backhouse Consultant Distance Learning and Information

Technologies Unit

Program Development Branch

Louise Boissonneault Publications Editor Production Support Unit

Program Development Branch

Lee-Ila Bothe Coordinator Production Support Unit

Program Development Branch

Diane Cooley Project Manager Curriculum Unit

(until July 2004) Program Development Branch

Ken Horton Consultant Test Development Unit

Assessment and Evaluation Branch

Larry Labelle Consultant Curriculum Unit

Program Development Branch

Ray Lavery Consultant Curriculum Unit

Program Development Branch

Susan Letkemann Publications Editor Production Support Unit

Program Development Branch

## **Acknowledgements**

#### Manitoba Education, Citizenship and Youth Staff (continued)

Janet Long Desktop Publisher Production Support Unit

Program Development Branch

Linda Mlodzinski Project Leader Curriculum Unit

Program Development Branch

Grant Moore Publications Editor Production Support Unit

Program Development Branch

Aileen Najduch Project Manager Curriculum Unit

(after July 2004) Program Development Branch

Linda Palma Administrative Assistant Curriculum Unit

Program Development Branch

Cyril Parent Desktop Publisher Production Support Unit

Program Development Branch

Tim Pohl Desktop Publisher Production Support Unit

Program Development Branch

Tony Tavares Consultant Curriculum Unit

Program Development Branch