Social Studies

Websites to Support the Curriculum

Grade 7: Cluster 1: People and Places in the World

Learning Experience: 7.1.1 Mapping the Globe
7.1.1 ACTIVATING STRATEGIES

The Peters Map compared to the Mercator Map: http://www.petersmap.com/page2.html

Pacific-Centred World Maps: http://www.theodora.com/maps/new7/pacific_world_maps.html

Federal Publications, World Wall Maps: http://www.fedpubs.com/maps/wldmap2.htm (website to order the Peters Projection Wall Map, showing equal area of continents; and the What’s Up? South! Map using aVan der Grinten Projection, but with south and north reversed, to challenge our geographic assumptions.)

Map projections: http://www.colorado.edu/geography/gcraft/notes/mapproj/mapproj_f.htm

7.1.1 ACQUIRING STRATEGIES

Online Map Creation, Map Projections: http://www.planiglobe.com/omc_set.html

Java World Map Projections: http://www.btinternet.com/~se16/js/mapproj.htm

Canada’s Digital Collections, All about Maps, How Maps Work, Map Projections: http://collections.ic.gc.ca/allaboutmaps/aaMaps_M3_projections_Z.htm

National Geographic, Xpeditions Hall, Projections, Round earth, Flat Maps: http://www.nationalgeographic.com/2000/projections/ax/content_frame.html

ESRI Canada Schools and Libraries Programs, Lessons: http://gis.esri.com/industries/education/arclessons/search_results.cfm

NASA Latitude and Longitude: http://pwg.gsfc.nasa.gov/stargaze/Slatlong.htm

Canada’s Digital Collections, All About Maps, How Maps Work, Latitude and Longitude: http://collections.ic.gc.ca/allaboutmaps/aaMaps_M3_latlong_Z.htm

What You Need to Know about Geography, Latitude and Longitude: http://geography.about.com/library/weekly/aa031197.htm

The Prime Meridian of the World: http://greenwichmeridian.com/

Meteorological Services of Canada, Universal Time: http://www.meteo.gc.ca/canada_e.html

National Research Council, Web Clock: http://time5.nrc.ca/webclock_e.shtml

World Time: http://www.world-time.co.uk/

Canada’s Time Zones: http://www.nrc-cnrc.gc.ca/eng/services/inms/time-services/time-zones.html

Greenwich Guide, The Prime Meridian: http://www.greenwich-guide.org.uk/meridian.htm

The Prime Meridian of the World: http://greenwichmeridian.com/

Science World, Wolfram Research, Universal Time: U.S. Naval Observatory, World Time Zone Map: http://aa.usno.navy.mil/faq/docs/world_tzones.html

Sailing through Science, International Date Line: http://www.goals.com/sailscin/dateline.htm

7.1.1 APPLYING STRATEGIES

Transportation:  Edmonton Flying Times: http://edmonton.foundlocally.com/Trans/Trans-AirFlyTimes.htm

What You Need to Know About Geography, Free Blank Outline Maps of the Countries and Continents of the World: http://geography.about.com/library/blank/blxindex.htm

Education Place, Outline Maps: http://www.eduplace.com/ss/maps/index.html

Indo.com, How Far Is It?: http://www.indo.com/distance/index.html (gives the latitude and longitude of a city; calculates distance to another point if desired

Learning Experience: 7.1.2 The Global Natural Environment
7.1.2 ACTIVATING STRATEGIES

NASA Earth Observatory, World Biomes: http://earthobservatory.nasa.gov/Laboratory/Biome/ (photos and data on seven types of world biomes, vegetation cover) 

MSN Come Together Community, World Landscapes: http://groups.msn.com/ComeTogetherCommunity/worldlandscapes.msnw

Arizona Geographic Alliance, Maps, The World: http://alliance.la.asu.edu/azga/

National Geographic, Xpeditions Atlas, The World: http://www.nationalgeographic.com/xpeditions/atlas

7.1.2 ACQUIRING STRATEGIES

Climatic Zones: http://www.geography.learnontheinternet.co.uk/topics/climatezones.html#zones

Global Climates: http://www.uwsp.edu/geo/faculty/ritter/geog101/uwsp_lectures/climates_toc.html

National Geographic, Xpeditions, Creative Climates: http://www.nationalgeographic.com/xpeditions/activities/08/climates.html (excellent site: activities, photos, maps, descriptions)

NASA Earth Observatory, World Biomes: http://earthobservatory.nasa.gov/Laboratory/Biome/ (photos and data on seven types of world biomes, vegetation cover) 

Biomes of the World: http://mbgnet.mobot.org/sets/index.htm

The World’s Biomes: http://www.ucmp.berkeley.edu/glossary/gloss5/biome/

Planet Pals, World Wonders: http://www.planetpals.com/worldwonders.html

ThinkQuest, Seven Wonders of the Natural World: http://library.thinkquest.org/J002388/naturalwonders.html

7.1.2 APPLYING STRATEGIES

No websites recommended

Learning Experience: 7.1.3 Global Population Trends
7.1.3 ACTIVATING STRATEGIES
7.1.3 ACQUIRING STRATEGIES

United Nations 20 Most Populated Countries: http://www.un.org/esa/population/pubsarchive/india/20most.htm

All About Geography, Countries with the Largest Population: http://geography.about.com/library/weekly/aa051198.htm

World Gazetteer: http://www.world-gazetteer.com

Country Reports: http://www.countryreports.org/

GeoHive, Global Statistics: http://www.xist.org/

Wikipedia Free Encyclopedia, Developing Nations: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Developing_nation

Wikipedia Free Encyclopedia, Developed Nations: http://www.artpolitic.org/infopedia/de/Developed_nations.html

Country Reports: http://www.countryreports.org/

United Nations Cyber School Bus, Cities of Today, Cities of Tomorrow: http://www.un.org/cyberschoolbus/habitat/index.asp (includes cities fact game, history of cities, teaching activities)

Country Reports: http://www.countryreports.org/

7.1.3 APPLYING STRATEGIES

The Canadian Refugee System: http://www.cic.gc.ca/ENGLISH/refugees/index.asp

United Nations Cyber School Bus, Info Nation: http://www.un.org/Pubs/CyberSchoolBus/infonation/info.asp (international comparisons – allows you to compare data using up to five countries: population, population density, surface area, et cetera)

United Nations Cyber School Bus, Country at a Glance: http://cyberschoolbus.un.org/infonation/index.asp (Use world map to select a country; a descriptive summary of the country is provided.)

Country Reports: http://www.countryreports.org/

E-Pals Community Classroom Exchange: http://www.epals.com (student safe global classroom exchange project)

UNICEF, Voices of Youth electronic discussion: http://www.unicef.org/voy/