Treaty of Utrecht

The Treaty of Utrecht is a peace agreement signed in 1713 between England and France to end a war that began in Europe in 1701. This war, sometimes called "Queen Anne's War" for the reigning Queen of England, involved several European countries in a dispute about rights to the throne of Spain. The conflict spread into North America when local battles broke out between English and French colonies in Acadia, Newfoundland, and New England.

When the war ended in Europe, France surrendered a great deal of colonial territory in North America. These are the terms agreed to in the Treaty:

- All French forts in the northwest—the region covered by all the rivers that flowed onto the Hudson's Bay—were surrendered to the British.
- France agreed to pay the British fur company in North America, the Hudson's Bay Company, for losses they suffered during the war.
- Newfoundland was surrendered to the British. French colonists who had settled at Plaisance (Placentia) in Newfoundland left the island. France retained some fishing rights in the area as well as the smaller islands of St. Pierre and Miquelon, which are French territories to this day.
- Port-Royal, the capital of Acadia, had been captured by the British in 1710. The British renamed it Annapolis Royal, and also gained control of more of the territory of Acadia (mostly in Nova Scotia).
- France retained some land in Acadia (part of New Brunswick). It also retained Île-Royale (Cape Breton Island) where it later built the great fort Louisbourg.
- The Iroquois people in southern Ontario and northern New York were declared to be British subjects.





5.2

f

Note:

A *subject* is a person under the authority of someone else (usually a King or Queen) and considered to owe loyalty to that person.

"New England" refers to the thirteen colonies established by England on the east coast of the present-day United States.