Aboriginal Identity Declaration (AID)

Identifier Descriptions

<u>Aboriginal</u>

Section 35 (2) of Canada's Constitution Act 1982 defines Aboriginal peoples as Indian, Inuit and Métis peoples of Canada. These peoples are diverse with their own unique languages and cultures.

First Nation

Term now used to replace the former legal term for peoples referred to as "Indian" (as defined in the Indian Act).

Aboriginal peoples who identify as First Nations include registered/status/treaty and non-status/non-treaty "Indians". For example, the Dakota people of Manitoba that do not have treaties with the Crown may still identify as First Nations people.

First Nations peoples identify with the Nation to which they belong. There are five First Nations predominant in Manitoba – Cree, Ojibway, Dakota, Dene and Oji-Cree.

Métis

Aboriginal peoples of mixed First Nation and European or Canadian ancestry who identify as Métis people.

Inuit

Aboriginal peoples of Arctic Canada (primarily of Churchill in Northern Manitoba, Nunavut, Northwest Territories, Northern Labrador, Northern Quebec and Northern Manitoba).

Uncertain of ancestry

Due to factors such as the Residential Schools experience, 60s Scoop, Child Welfare and Adoption practices, many Aboriginal peoples have experienced impacts to their family dynamics resulting in loss of identity. Some Aboriginal peoples, although they are aware they have Aboriginal ancestry, may be unable to identify with a particular classification as noted above. In this event, the "uncertain of ancestry" identifier may be selected.

Linguistical/Cultural Identifiers

Descriptions for the distinct groups in Manitoba

Anishinaabe (Ojibway/Saulteaux) - Refers to peoples of the Algonquian language family who identify with Odawa, Ojibwe/Ojibway/Saulteaux, and Chippewa.

Ininew (Cree) - Refers to peoples of the Algonquian language family who identify with Cree dialects (for example, Swampy Cree/Ininimowin, Woods Cree/Nihithawiwin and Plains Cree).

Dene (Sayisi) - Refers to peoples of the Athapaskan language family who identify with the distinct groups of Dene (ie. T'Suline Dene and Sayisi Dene).

Dakota - Refers to peoples of the Siouan language family who identify with distinct Assiniboine, Dakota, Lakota, and Nakoda.

Oji-Cree - Refers to peoples whose language and culture derive from mixed Ojibwe and Cree traditions, but are generally considered a distinct nation from either of their parent groups. They are considered one of the component groups of Anishinaabe, and reside primarily in a transitional zone between traditional Ojibwe lands to their south and traditional Cree lands to their north (in Northeastern Manitoba, this refers to the Island Lake region).

Michif - Refers to peoples of the Métis Nation and may speak the Michif language which is a mixed Cree or Ojibway and French.

Inuktitut - Refers to peoples of distinct Inuit language families (ie. Inuvialuktun, Inuvinnagtun, Inuittitut, and Inuttut).

Other (please indicate if not on the list above) ______ - this identifier is meant to be used for Aboriginal peoples that do not identify with one of the above linguistical/cultural identifiers (for example, an Aboriginal person coming from another province that does not identify with the above identifiers distinct to Manitoba, can declare here).

More information about Aboriginal Identity Declaration can be found at www.edu.gov.mb.ca/aed/abidentity.html