Item for approval

Minutes of the Oct 13, 2011

Meeting of the Council on Post-Secondary Education

COPSE Members: Curtis Nordman (Chair), Pandy Halamandaris, Ian Hall,

Rex Masesar, Ross Wedlake and Beverlie Stuart

Regrets: Tayeb Meridji, Rachel DeGagné, Felix Walker and Ron

Bernard

COPSE Staff: Dan Smith (A/Secretary), Jeff Kehler, Kitty Leong, Paul

Burbank, Carlos Matias, Melissa Weavers, Chris Simes,

Kim Browning, Josh Watt and Meg Brolley

1. Minutes of the September 8, 2011 Meeting

Motion (Wedlake/Halamandaris): that the minutes of the September 8, 2011 Council meeting be approved.

CARRIED

2. Program Proposals

University of Manitoba

MSc and PhD in Biomedical Engineering

Motion (Stuart/Halamandaris): that Council approve the request of the University of Manitoba (UM) to establish a 10 seat, 21 credit hour, Master of Science in Biomedical Engineering and a 10 seat, 12-18 credit hour, Doctor of Philosophy in Biomedical Engineering in 2011-12 and future years, conditional on the receipt of more detailed information on labour market demand for the program.

CARRIED

"Original signed by Jeff Kehler"	"Original signed by Curtis Nordman"
Jeff Kehler	Curtis Nordman
Recorder	Chair